Future Fund Board of Guardians

The Future Fund Board of Guardians is responsible for investing the assets of the Future Fund and three other investment funds.

The Board consists of a Chair and six other members. Board members are appointed by the responsible Ministers, in accordance with legislation, and and selected for their expertise in investing in financial assets, managing investments and corporate governance. Each Guardian is appointed on a part time basis for a term of up to five years.

Hon. Peter Costello AC 

Hon. Peter Costello AC (Chairman)

Mr. Costello was first appointed to the Board with effect from 18 December 2009. He was appointed acting Chairman on 11 January 2014 and Chairman with effect from 4 February 2014 for a five year term.

Mr. Costello served as a member of the House of Representatives from 1990 to 2009 and was Treasurer of the Commonwealth of Australia from March 1996 to December 2007.  He has been Chair of the G20 Central Bank Governors and Finance Ministers, the OECD Ministerial, the APEC Finance Ministers, and a Governor of the IMF, World Bank and Asian Development Bank.  He has served as Chairman of the Independent Advisory Board to the World Bank.

Mr. Costello is a Director of Nine Entertainment Co and Chairman of ECG Financial Pty Ltd. Mr. Costello was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2011 for eminent service to the Parliament of Australia through the development of landmark economic policy reforms.

Carol Austin

Ms. Carol Austin

Ms. Austin was appointed with effect from 3 April 2011 for a period of five years.

 Ms. Austin is Investment Services Director for Contango Asset Management and a member of the Boards of HSBC Bank Australia and the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation. She has held senior positions with Rothschild Australia Asset Management, Commonwealth Funds Management, BHP and the Reserve Bank of Australia.
Susan Doyle

Ms. Susan Doyle

Ms. Doyle was first appointed on 3 April 2006. She was reappointed in 2009 and again in 2013 for a period of two years.

Ms. Doyle was Chair of the Australian Reward Investment Alliance (ARIA) until July 2009. Ms. Doyle has had an extensive executive career in the funds management industry, particularly in the equities and fixed interest sectors, working with Commonwealth Funds Management, Suncorp Metway and Insurance Australia Group.

Stephen Fitzgerald

Mr. Stephen Fitzgerald

Mr. Fitzgerald was appointed with effect from 3 April 2011 for a period of five years.

Mr. Fitzgerald was previously Chairman of Goldman Sachs Australia and New Zealand and formerly Co-Chief Executive of Goldman Sachs & Partners Australia. He had a long career with Goldman Sachs including senior roles in London, Tokyo and Hong Kong and has substantial experience in asset management in Australia and internationally.

Steven Harker

Mr. Steven Harker

Mr. Harker was appointed with effect from 3 April 2012 for a period of five years.

Mr. Harker has deep understanding of global financial markets and substantial expertise in investment and asset management. He is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Morgan Stanley Australia and is a Director of Australian Financial Markets Association Ltd and Investa Property Group.

John Mulcahy

Dr. John Mulcahy

Dr. Mulcahy was first appointed on 3 April 2006 for five years and reappointed for four years with effect from 3 April 2011.

Dr. Mulcahy has broad corporate experience and expertise in retail financial services. He was Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Suncorp and previously held a number of senior roles in the Commonwealth Bank including the role of Group Executive, Investment and Insurance Services. Prior to joining the Commonwealth Bank he was Chief Executive of Lend Lease Property Investment Services and Chief Executive of Civil and Civic.

John Poynton

Mr. John Poynton AM

Mr. Poynton was appointed with effect from 4 February 2014 for a period of five years.

Mr. Poynton is the Chair of Azure Capital and a Director of Crown Perth. Mr. Poynton also previously served as a Director of the Export Finance Insurance Corporation, a member of the Higher Education Endowment Fund and served as a member of the Payment Systems Board of the RBA.


Be notified of the latest news announcements.

Visit the Subscription Page